Springboks could be barred from RWC

A South African political party has taken the South African Rugby Union to court in a move that could see the Springboks miss the Rugby World Cup.

The Agency for New Agenda (ANA) party is seeking an order in a Pretoria court this week that would force players and officials to surrender their passports, the Guardian reports.

The ANA are protesting the fact that the Springboks squad doesn’t have enough black players which doesn’t meet the South African government’s policy on transformation.

Coach Heyneke Meyer named his squad last week which included a record nine black players selected. He had to meet a minimum requirement of having 30 per cent black players in his squad, but he only has 29 percent.

“The action is a public duty to defend our constitution and to consign to the rubbish bin of history all vestiges and remnants of racial bigotry, racial exclusion and discrimination,” ANA president Edward Mahlomola Mokhoanatse said.

“Although much has been done to transform the country, the national team’s rugby selection criteria are racially exclusionary and biased in favour of whites,” he added.

“Fikile Mbalula [the sports minister] has failed to transform rugby and any argument SARU presents to justify is failure to do so should be treated with disdain. It has betrayed the trust of millions of South Africans, continues to resist change and should attract the severest sanctions possible.”

africaThe action, which calls for the authorities responsible for the ports of exit to bar the Springboks from leaving the country, will be heard by Judge Ntendeya Mavundla.

South Africa open their World Cup campaign against against Japan on September 19. Samoa, Scotland and the United States are the other Pool C countries.

Forwards: Willem Alberts, Schalk Brits, Schalk Burger, Lood de Jager, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Frans Malherbe, Victor Matfield, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Adriaan Strauss, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs: Jean de Villiers (captain), Damian De Allende, Fourie du Preez, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Jesse Kriel, Patrick Lambie, Willie le Roux, Lwazi Mvovo, Rudy Paige, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Handre Pollard, Morne Steyn.

– NZ Herald


About Michael Faga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.