With A Massive 10Records Broken, The West Is Out To Prove Their Worth!

All 11 Schools that came for the zone were ready to come, play and win. And they did. Natabua High School and Jasper Williams High School have retained their respective titles at this year’s Coca Cola Lautoka Zone.

Jasper finished with 22 gold, 23 silver and 13 bronze to win the girls division. Natabua came in 2nd with 14gold, 8 silver and 7bronze medals. While Lautoka Central finished 3rd with 4gold, 5silver and 4bronze.

Natabua High School proved once again why they are the reigning champs of Lautoka when they took out the boys title with 35 gold, 23 silver and 11 bronze medals. Central College came in second with 4 gold, 8 silver and 11 bronze. And the suprise of the event was Pundit Vishnu Deo Memorial College taking 3rd place with 4gold, 1silver and 2bronze.

Ofa Loganilakeba took out best female athlete after winning gold in the senior girls 100m, 200m and 4x100m replay events. She also broke the senior girls 100m record to set a new time of 12.50 seconds and beat Makelesi Bulikiobo’s 200m record (25.95secs) set in 1991 with a new time of 25.87seconds.

Best male athlete was awarded to Rayash Kumar of Natabua who won the senior boys 1500m and 3000m events.

Highlight of this year’s Lautoka Zone was underdogs’ Yasawa High Schools Ulamila Vata, running without track shoes (socks only) and still won the event. Breaking the 1500m record setting a new time of 5:42:59minutes. Chief Guest of the closing ceremony, CEO of Lautoka City Council, Mr. Mohammed Amiz Khan, acknowledged Vata as a source of inspiration for athletes to work hard for their goals despite the lack of resources available to them.

About Joslyne Thaggard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.