Rugby World Cup 2015: Meet the Pool A teams

Every World Cup has to have a Group Of Death, and there’s no doubting that for this one it’s Pool A – featuring Australia, England, Wales, Fiji and Uruguay.



Captain: Stephen Moore

Took over the job from Michael Hooper for the Rugby Championship and earned plaudits for his leadership. A fearless ball-carrying hooker who idolised Keith Wood as a youngster.

Star player: Michael Hooper

World Cup history: As winners in 1991 and 1999 and runners-up in 2003, Australia boast a proud World Cup record. Have a habit of finding a way around their weaknesses and are always a force when challenging for the Webb Ellis Cup.



Captain: Chris Robshaw

A brave openside who leads by example week after week. His appetite for work is dizzying and he repeatedly tops the tackle and carry charts. Foraging on the ground remains a weakness, however.

Star player: Jonathan Joseph

World Cup history: Winners in 2003 when Jonny Wilkinson kicked an extra-time drop goal with seconds to spare and beaten finalists in 1991 and 2007. Finished fourth in 1995, but bombed in 2011.



Captain: Sam Warburton

Still only 26 years old, Warburton is one of the most established captains in international rugby. Made his debut in 2010 and was appointed skipper the year after. Two years later he led the British and Irish Lions to Australia.

Star player: George North

World Cup history: It has been lean pickings for Wales, who struggled in the tournament until 2011 when they were edged by France in a nail-biting semi-final that saw Warburton dismissed for a spear tackle. Howls of protest ensued.



Captain: Akapusi Qera

The Montpellier openside will be appearing at a third World Cup and his second as Fiji’s captain. A well-travelled openside who played for Gloucester for seven years, he is a key link in Fiji’s attacking game.

Star player: Niki Goneva

World Cup history: Fiji have precious few wins against tier one nations, but their 38-34 victory over Wales in 2007 was one of them. It remains their World Cup highlight, although their battling 37-20 loss to South Africa in the ensuing quarter-final was admirable.



Captain: Santiago Vilaseca

Uruguay were dealt a blow when experienced back row Rodrigo Capo Ortega, who also played in the 2003 World Cup, unexpectedly announced his international retirement. Hard-working flanker Vilaseca has stepped into the breach.

Star player: Felipe Berchesi

World Cup history: England 2015 will be Uruguay’s third World Cup and the South Americans be hoping to improve on a record of two wins from seven matches. In 2003 England scored 111 points against them.

More at:-

About admin

One thought on “Rugby World Cup 2015: Meet the Pool A teams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.